Purple Stereo Countdown

News About The Noise Engine

See all news stories

Older news stories

24 May 2017
Pelican Crossing Released

Pelican Crossing, the debut album by Pelican Crossing, is now available for free download.

8 January 2017
Seed Released

The new The Noise Engine album, Seed, is released today. It is available for free download or to buy on CD. The album features collaborations with James Tweedie, Pelican Crossing and The Bolt, among others. You can listen to three tracks below, or head to the Seed page to get a copy.

13 August 2013
New The Noise Engine Track

Listen to the first finished track from the new The Noise Engine album, Seed:

This track features James Tweedie on the cornet. A number of other musicians will feature on the upcoming album.

3 March 2013
CDs Available

CD versions of Ambient Works Vol. 1, Martorell, Comaphoria, Autumn Is Beautiful, The Fantastical Flute Fanatic and Map Skills/Rubix are now available from the catalogue page.

21 May 2011
99 Problems/Cantina Band

99 Problems/Cantina Band, Matthew Scroggs' mash up of 99 Problems and Cantina Band from Star Wars, is now available for free download.

16 March 2010
Bucket Full of Noise Released

Bucket Full of Noise, an EP of ambient and experimental recordings by The Noise Engine is now available for free download.

31 December 2009
Happy New Year!

It's been a big year for Purple Stereo Countdown. We started the year as a group of friends with a vague idea of starting something and now we end the year with a functioning online record label with 11 full releases (and 1 promotional release) and a total of 893 downloads of these releases. Over the year, Mas and Comaphoria have joined the original Legavrik, The Noise Engine and Hypnic Jerk in releasing albums on the label. 2010 also promises to be a big year for us, with future releases from Hypnic Jerk, Mas and Legavrik expected, as well as an exciting new release from The Anti Psychotic Budweiser Combination.

Thank-you to everyone who has been with us through this year. You've made the ride a joy to be on!

25 October 2009
Autumn is Beautiful Released

Autumn Is Beautiful by The Noise Engine has been released and is now available for free download.

24 June 2009
A Hawk and a Hacksaw

Last night, Matthew Scroggs (The Noise Engine, Legavrik) and James Tweedie (Legavrik) went to the Holywell Music Room in Oxford to see A Hawk And A Hacksaw. Both agree that it was the best concert they have ever attended and recommend that everyone else goes to see them and/or buys their albums. A list of where they will be playing in the upcoming weeks can be found here.

15 April 2009
A Compilation of Noise

A Compilation of Noise, a compilation of tracks from various The Noise Engine and a few Legavrik recording sessions, is now available for download.

Older news stories

See all news stories

Website design, Purple Stereo Countdown logo, all other content © Matthew Scroggs 2017

Remember me
Login details will work on both
Purple Stereo Countdown
Cats in Drag.